interview

The 5-question interview: Nina D’Aleo

Nina D’Aleo’s first novel, The Last City (Momentum, 2012), has already scored Book of the Week status on Apple’s iBookstore. An intoxicating blend of noir crime, science fiction and fantasy, this amazing novel* has been described as Blade Runner meets Perdido Street Station.

You can follow Nina on Twitter at @ninadaleo.

* Declaration of bias: Sophie is Nina’s agent and Mark works for Momentum.

1. Can you remember the first story you ever wrote and, if so, what was it?

I can!

It was in kindergarten – a story about Claude the Christmas Cat surprising Santa. There are two reasons why I remember it  – one – mum kept it and still has it (bless her!) and two, because my teacher, Miss Dawn, showed my parents the story and said ‘I think she’ll be a writer’. Never ever forgot that.

2. How many novels did you write before your ‘first novel’ was published?

I’m one of these compulsive writers, so I’ve accumulated a lot of stories over the years – there’s probably 50 or so novels in various stages of in/completion lurking around in the dusty shadows of my computer, but the quality of most would be questionable at the most generous…

 

3. What sorts of books do you love to read?

I love speculative fiction/sci-fi/fantasy more than any other genre, but I do read across genres as well if something catches my attention. I’m going to copy Lenny Bartulin and say the last five books I read were A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings and A Storm of Swords by George R. R. Martin; Flesh by Kylie Scott and The Chimera Vector by Nathan Farrugia (two of my fellow Momentum writers) – all five were awesome for different reasons.

 

4. If you were forced to co-write a novel with someone (as we’re not presuming that you’d want to co-write with anyone necessarily) who would it be?

 Great question! Immediately my mind went to China Miéville because – he’s China Miéville! But I highly suspect I would spend every writing session just staring at him in a weird kind of way so it may not work that well. So I’d actually probably choose my mum because she’s read every single thing I’ve written so she gets me, she’s a wonderful writer and I can have creative-person tantrums and fits of swearing and she’ll forgive me – no grovelling necessary.

 

5. What are you working on now and next?

 Right now I’m working on The Last City Book 2 and a few urban fantasy novels, and next – hopefully more of the same 🙂

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

